Migrate to Australia: skills in demand • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 7:23PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:23PM Sun23°
Melbourne7:23PM Sun17°
Brisbane6:23PM Sun28°
Perth4:23PM Sun20°
Adelaide6:53PM Sun
Hobart7:23PM Sun18°
Canberra7:23PM Sun25°
Darwin5:53PM Sun29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Migrate to Australia: skills in demand

08 August 2016 by News Desk

Migrate to Australia if you have skills and qualifications in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Migrate to AustraliaMigrate to Australia: Over the coming decade 75% of jobs in the fastest-growing industries will need skills and qualifications in science, technology, engineering and mathematics – known as S.T.E.M.

As the jobs market moves away from traditional industries it is affecting both the skills list for migrants and temporary workers and the teaching of students in schools.

To meet this growing demand for new academic and practical skills a major initiative has been launched to ensure educational institutions in Australia have the resources they need.

Darrell Todd, founder of thinkingaustralia, says: “This is good news for skilled workers seeking a new life in Australia.

“Schools, colleges and universities will need teachers qualified in these S.T.E.M. subjects. And industry will also need the same skills.

“Families seeking to migrate to Australia will want to know their children are being taught subjects that will enable them to get a job in this changing environment.”

Migrate to Australia: skills in demand

The National Innovation and Science Agenda is driving change across educational institutions to ensure students get the skills they need for the jobs of tomorrow.

Most in-demand skills include ICT, cyber security, science and engineering – with a special focus on females. Right now, only one in 10 engineering graduates in Australia is female. And the government is determined to greatly increase this figure.

Millions of dollars are being spent to support and encourage students in S.T.E.M subjects, with new initiatives aimed at all levels of education from pre-school to university and the wider community.

Support for school students includes online computing challenges, ICT summer schools, and a national ‘Cracking the Code’ competition.

Support for teachers includes tools to help implement the Digital Technologies curriculum; to drive digital literacy and to bring STEM professionals and ICT professionals into the classroom.

Initiatives include new prizes to recognise the STEM efforts of youth and early career research excellence; support for students in international competitions, developing learning tools and science and mathematics resources for early childhood educators.

For more info go to: www.innovation.gov.au

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for expert help with Study Visas: Student Visas in Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy