Local:
Sydney: Tue 11:04AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:04AM Tue17°
Melbourne11:04AM Tue16°
Brisbane10:04AM Tue21°
Perth8:04AM Tue12°
Adelaide10:34AM Tue
Hobart11:04AM Tue11°
Canberra11:04AM Tue13°
Darwin9:34AM Tue27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our bookozdirectory

Manchester City stars visit Melbourne

11 August 2015 by News Desk

sport_ManCityManchester City fans in Melbourne got a treat when Raheem Sterling paid a visit to the city’s Official Supporters Club.

New signing Sterling turned up with veteran player Mike Summerbee (pictured) during the club’s recent pre-season tour of Australia to meet a group of fans who gather in the early hours of the night down under to support the English club.

The Aussie supporters are known as ‘bananas in pyjamas’ due to the time difference between the two countries and their staying up all night to watch Man City play matches in UK.

Supporters Club secretary Steve Bardsley grew up in Manchester but emigrated to Australia in 1975, while most other fans were born and bred in Melbourne.

There has been a direct link between the Premiere League club and the city of Melbourne since Manchester City have acquired a financial stake in one of Melbourne’s local A-League clubs.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies.
Cookie Policy Privacy policy