Jobs in Australia Increase • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sat 4:47PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney4:47PM Sat16°
Melbourne4:47PM Sat12°
Brisbane4:47PM Sat24°
Perth2:47PM Sat16°
Adelaide4:17PM Sat
Hobart4:47PM Sat
Canberra4:47PM Sat10°
Darwin4:17PM Sat32°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Jobs in Australia Increase

17 July 2020 by News Desk

Jobs in Australia: Employment increased by 210,800 people between May and June according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

“The easing of COVID-19 restrictions in June saw an extra 280,000 people in the labour force, with more people in employment, and more actively looking and available for work,” said Bjorn Jarvis, head of labour statistics at the ABS

The 210,800 rise in employment was underpinned by a large increase in part-time employment (249,000 people) and a further decrease in full-time employment (38,100 people).

Overall, the percentage of people employed in Australia increased 1.0 percentage point to 59.2 per cent, up from a low of 58.2 per cent in May.

“In June, around 24 per cent of the fall in employment through to May had been regained,” Mr Jarvis said.

Hours worked rose 4.0 per cent in June, but remained 6.8 per cent lower than March. Hours worked increased more for females (5.0 per cent) than males (3.3 per cent) over the month.

Jobs in Australia

Hours worked for females were still around 7.3 per cent below March, compared to 6.5 per cent for males.

The underemployment rate decreased by 1.4 percentage points, to 11.7 per cent, but remained 2.9 percentage points above March.

The under-utilisation rate, which combines the unemployment and underemployment rates, fell 1.0 percentage point, to 19.1 per cent.

Monthly hours worked in all jobs increased by 64.3 million hours (4.0%) to 1,664.7 million hours in May 2020, a larger increase than that seen for employed people (1.7%).

In June 2020, the average hours worked per employed person was around 31.1 hours per week, up from around 30.4 hours in May.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news

For a range of official government information about Australia, visit https://www.Australia.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy