Australia Movie Industry Gets $400m Boost • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 2:33PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney2:33PM Fri23°
Melbourne2:33PM Fri16°
Brisbane1:33PM Fri30°
Perth11:33AM Fri26°
Adelaide2:03PM Fri
Hobart2:33PM Fri15°
Canberra2:33PM Fri24°
Darwin1:03PM Fri32°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia Movie Industry Gets $400m Boost

18 July 2020 by News Desk

Australia movie industry has received a $400 cash boost thanks to a new scheme that aims to attract Hollywood producers to make moves down under.

The federal government has announced a new $400 million cash grants scheme to lure overseas film and television productions to Australia.

Hollywood producers Jerry Bruckheimer and Ron Howard have already expressed an interest Prime Minister Scott Morrison said.

The cash incentive is aimed at protecting more than 8,000 jobs in Australia’s film and related industries. The new cash incentive is due to last seven years.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison: “It’s extending a program we’ve been running very successfully for several years and making it even more generous than it has been.

Australia movie industry

“There’s a good opportunity, just not to do one film but to get big productions that are doing multiple series, both on television for streaming as well as the big movie productions, to get multiple films over many years.

Morrison’s new movie incentive has the support of other state premieres including South Australia Premier Marshall and Premier Palaszczuk,

“Gladys Berejiklian has always been keen on this scheme and so has Dan Andrews,” Morrison said.

“Eight thousand jobs is the bottom line. And it’s not just actors, it’s sparkies, it’s caterers, it’s the other suppliers. It’s water bottle providers to sets. It affects so many jobs”.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news

For a range of official government information about Australia, visit https://www.Australia.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy