Study visas to resume • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sat 7:15PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:15PM Sat14°
Melbourne7:15PM Sat11°
Brisbane7:15PM Sat20°
Perth5:15PM Sat16°
Adelaide6:45PM Sat
Hobart7:15PM Sat
Canberra7:15PM Sat
Darwin6:45PM Sat30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Study visas to resume

20 July 2020 by News Desk

Study in Australia can resume after the government this week began issuing new study visas.

Overseas students will be allowed to learn remotely and keep graduate work rights.

The government has acted after plans to allow overseas students to study in Australia through quarantine hotels were put on hold due to a resurgence of COVID-19 in Victoria.

International students help to contribute $40 billion a year to the economy.

The government will resume issuing student visas at “all locations” outside Australia, so students can arrange travel as soon as restrictions were lifted.

Students who already have visas will be able to count the time they spend learning remotely towards requirements for a post-study work visa.

Study in Australia

Students have also been given extra time to provide English-language test results.

Dan Tehan, Minister for Education, said the changes would give international students confidence.

“Our remarkable efforts in controlling the spread of the virus mean we can begin to welcome back international students in a COVID-safe way once state borders reopen and face-to-face learning resumes,” he said.

Australia is locked in a battle with other leading countries to win overseas students. The UK is allowing international students to enter if they self-isolate for 14 days.

A recent survey of international students found more than three-quarters would be willing to participate in quarantine programs if it meant beginning face-to-face learning sooner.

Are you thinking about living, working or study in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news

For a range of official government information about Australia, visit https://www.Australia.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy