Jobs growth in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 9:37AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:37AM Fri13°
Melbourne9:37AM Fri14°
Brisbane9:37AM Fri18°
Perth7:37AM Fri16°
Adelaide9:07AM Fri
Hobart9:37AM Fri12°
Canberra9:37AM Fri
Darwin9:07AM Fri27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Jobs growth in Australia

19 September 2015 by News Desk

health_doctorHealthcare remains the biggest employer in Australia and it was the biggest job creator overall in the past 12 months.

But over the last three months more jobs have been created in the mining industry despite a slowdown in demand from China, Australia’s biggest mining export market.

According to the Australia Bureau of Statistics, the biggest job-creating industries over the past three months were mining (19,300 new jobs); Education (15,900); construction (14,000); agriculture (6,400); hospitality (6,300); admin (6,000); services (5,900); creative (3,900).

Manufacturing is the sixth largest employer in Australia but wider economic conditions has resulted in around 42,000 jobs being lost in this industry over the past three months.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy