Interest rates in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 10:59PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:59PM Fri17°
Melbourne10:59PM Fri12°
Brisbane10:59PM Fri20°
Perth8:59PM Fri16°
Adelaide10:29PM Fri
Hobart10:59PM Fri17°
Canberra10:59PM Fri10°
Darwin10:29PM Fri25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Interest rates in Australia

25 October 2015 by News Desk

money01In Australia, interest rates charged on property loans and mortgages are rising with almost 80% of householders affected.

Westpac is the latest bank to raise its variable mortgage rate, increasing it by 0.2%. And this week the CBA Group, which holds 25% of all mortgages in Australia, raised their rates by 0.15%. The NAB (14.8%) raised its rates by 0.17%. and ANZ (14.7%) increased its interest rates by 0.18%.

At ANZ, the standard variable rate for owner-occupier home loans will increase by 0.18%pa to 5.56%pa and the Residential Investment Property loan index will increase by 0.18%pa to 5.83%pa, with changes coming into effect 20 November. The increase will add $36 per month to the average home loan of $242,000, according to ANZ.

Banks that have raised their mortgage rates currently hold 77.5% of all mortgages in Australia. The remainder are covered by regional banks (16.9%) and non-bank lenders (5.5%). Mortgages represent around 60% of total loans in the Australian financial system and around 85% of mortgages are based on variable rate terms.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy