Australia plays host to Hollywood • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 9:19AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:19AM Fri13°
Melbourne9:19AM Fri14°
Brisbane9:19AM Fri18°
Perth7:19AM Fri16°
Adelaide8:49AM Fri
Hobart9:19AM Fri12°
Canberra9:19AM Fri
Darwin8:49AM Fri27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia plays host to Hollywood

25 October 2015 by News Desk

ent_hollywoodsignAustralia will be the setting for two Hollywood blockbuster movies that are due to be filmed down under.

Director Ridley Scott will film the next installment in the Alien movie series in Australia and Marvel’s next Thor film, Ragnarok – starring Australian actor Chris Hemsworth – will also be filmed in Australia.

Ridley Scott announced he will make his ‘Prometheus’ sequel in Australia when he appeared by video link during a press conference in Canberra.

News of the new Hollywood productions follows a recent ‘trade mission’ to Los Angeles by Australian government officials who offered attractive financial terms to lure the movie-makers down under. Ridley Scott’s Alien film is being made for 20th Century Fox while the Walt Disney Company is making the new Thor movie.

The federal government, who offered a $47m ‘sweetener’ to secure the productions, say the movies will return more than $300m in offshore investment, create 3,000 new local jobs and benefit thousands of Australian businesses.

“Australian crews and actors will also gain the skills and experience to further strengthen our capacity to produce high-quality films for Australian and international audiences,” said Government Arts Minister Mitch Fifield.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy