Canberra is booming • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Wed 10:36PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:36PM Wed20°
Melbourne10:36PM Wed16°
Brisbane9:36PM Wed24°
Perth7:36PM Wed24°
Adelaide10:06PM Wed
Hobart10:36PM Wed15°
Canberra10:36PM Wed13°
Darwin9:06PM Wed29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Canberra is booming

24 October 2015 by News Desk

canberra02The Australian Capital Territory, including Canberra, has the fastest annual economic growth rate in Australia.

That’s according to the latest national survey on economic performance across the country. The ACT is again ranked sixth in the nation on overall economic performance. ACT is best on housing finance and economic growth (third) but seventh on construction work done, unemployment and equipment investment, according to the latest CommSec Research State of the States report.

The ACT economy has retained sixth position on economic performance for the June quarter against the decade average. The territory ranks third on economic growth and housing finance but is ranked seventh on three indicators. Economic activity is up 16.5 per cent, for the quarter.

“The ACT now has the fastest annual economic growth rate in the nation, up by 4 per cent on a year ago, ahead of Victoria with 3.9 per cent and NSW, 1.4 per cent,” the CommSec Research report says.

Latest ABS figures show that monthly retail trade in the ACT is up by 4.4%
and there was a 76% increase in new housing commencements in the June quarter of this year. In the year to June, dwelling commencements increased by 42%.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy