House prices in New Zealand • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 11:11PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:11PM Tue19°
Melbourne11:11PM Tue12°
Brisbane11:11PM Tue23°
Perth9:11PM Tue14°
Adelaide10:41PM Tue
Hobart11:11PM Tue12°
Canberra11:11PM Tue11°
Darwin10:41PM Tue28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

House prices in New Zealand

21 May 2015 by News Desk

property_buildingThe cost of buying a house in New Zealand is rising but not as fast as in recent years.

Latest property surveys reveal that 56% of respondents expect house prices to increase over the year ahead.

Although that’s a 3% dip from the previous quarter, when 59% expected higher prices, ASB Chief Economist Nick Tuffley says the sentiment is still very high, with the second highest reading since the early 2013 peak of 63%.

“The results don’t point to house price growth intensifying over the next year, but still suggest a decent pace of growth in the near term. It remains a tight market.”

Interest rate expectations have changed considerably over the last quarter with a net 11% of respondents expecting higher interest rates over the year ahead – sharply down from 34% last quarter and 70% a year ago.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy