Harry’s farewell to Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 11:00PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:00PM Tue19°
Melbourne11:00PM Tue12°
Brisbane11:00PM Tue23°
Perth9:00PM Tue14°
Adelaide10:30PM Tue
Hobart11:00PM Tue12°
Canberra11:00PM Tue11°
Darwin10:30PM Tue28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Harry’s farewell to Australia

21 May 2015 by News Desk

ent_princeharry01Britain’s Prince Harry ended his visit to New Zealand and Australia by scoring the winning goal in a football match.

The 30-year-old prince spent a week in New Zealand, where he took part in a pub quiz on an outer southern island, included learning a traditional haka at a military camp, and finished with a day of sport at Auckland. He played in a five-a-side match between New Zealand representatives and volunteers working at the FIFA U20 World Cup, which starts in New Zealand later this month.

As New Zealand prepares to hold a referendum on whether to change its flag, which features the British Blue Ensign, Harry used a farewell reception to highlight his family’s ties with the country. “These links are of course central to the constitution of this nation, but they go much deeper than that,” he said. “They are built on a profound personal fondness for this captivating country and its charming, talented people.”

The prince’s tour of New Zealand came after he spent a month with the Australian Army, during which time he learned bush survival techniques, flew a helicopter and helped capture a crocodile.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy