Home rental costs in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 7:34AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:34AM Tue17°
Melbourne7:34AM Tue
Brisbane6:34AM Tue18°
Perth4:34AM Tue17°
Adelaide7:04AM Tue
Hobart7:34AM Tue
Canberra7:34AM Tue10°
Darwin6:04AM Tue26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Home rental costs in Australia

19 July 2015 by News Desk

property_03Rents have fallen in Darwin by 16.4% for houses and 9.8% for units over the past year. Rents also fell in Perth (6.2% for houses and 4.9% for units), according to latest research.

The number of empty properties available for rent across Australia rose by 2.4% last month.

Almost 73,000 houses and units (apartments) were available for rent in June, compared to 71,970 in May, according to latest research.

Perth and Canberra saw the biggest rise, up 0.2% from May while Perth held the highest vacancy rate at 3.6%. Melbourne recorded a rise of 3.1% for houses and 2.2% for units. There were also small rises in Sydney and Adelaide.

Year-on-year, vacancy rates have dropped in Canberra, Melbourne, Hobart, and to a lesser extent Sydney, with Melbourne posting the biggest yearly fall in its vacancy rate from 2.7% to 2.3%.

 



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy