Hobart leads internet roll-out • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sat 5:36PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney5:36PM Sat16°
Melbourne5:36PM Sat12°
Brisbane5:36PM Sat24°
Perth3:36PM Sat16°
Adelaide5:06PM Sat
Hobart5:36PM Sat
Canberra5:36PM Sat10°
Darwin5:06PM Sat32°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Hobart leads internet roll-out

11 September 2015 by News Desk

tech_cablesThe roll-out of the new National Broadband Network in Hobart, Australia is now 50% complete and the price of broadband has plummeted.

As the latest fixed wireless tower was switched on in Neika, it has emerged that the cost of internet access across Australia has fallen dramatically in recent years.

The price per GigaBit of data for broadband customers in Australia has fallen from around $30 in 2007 to less than $1 per Gb today, according to Rod Sims, chairman of the Competition and Consumer Commission.

Tasmania will be the first state in Australia to have the new hi-speed broadband rollout completed with a target set for June 2018.

Residents of rural and remote mountain communities around Hobart are now able to access high-speed fixed wireless broadband services. Six service area modules have been completed in Hobart, deploying FTTP technology to 14,500 premises in the areas of Hobart City, Battery Point, Sandy Bay, North Hobart, Glebe, South Hobart, West Hobart, and Dynnynre.

National Broadband Network operators say that a further six service area modules in Hobart are actively under construction or planning. The remainder of the roll-out is due to begin construction before the end of 2016.

In total, over 83,000 premises will be connected to the Nbn across greater Hobart. There are now more than 90 fixed wireless towers in operation across Tasmania, covering over 27,000 premises. Currently around 40,000 homes and businesses in Tasmania have an active Nbn connection.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy