Australia home rents falling • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sat 6:46PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney6:46PM Sat15°
Melbourne6:46PM Sat12°
Brisbane6:46PM Sat22°
Perth4:46PM Sat16°
Adelaide6:16PM Sat
Hobart6:46PM Sat
Canberra6:46PM Sat
Darwin6:16PM Sat31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia home rents falling

10 September 2015 by News Desk

australian-money001The cost of renting a house in Australia has fallen by 1% and across the country combined rent is increasing at its slowest on record.

Rent inflation is slowing down as the construction boom brings tens of thousands of new homes onto the market in Australia’s capital cities. And in three major cities rental costs have fallen in the past 12 months, in one case by over 10%.

Sydney, at $592 per week, remains the most expensive city in which to rent a home while Adelaide, at $365 per week, is the most affordable, according to new figures from CoreLogic RP Data.

In the three months to August rents for houses have fallen by 1% while rents for units (apartments) have increased by 0.2%.

Darrell Todd of thinkingaustralia says: “Current trends suggest that rents in some capital cities will continue to slow and fall as more new homes come into the market, while slowing population growth will fuel the downward trend.

While current trends are good for home-renters, property investors are being squeezed on two sides. While rental growth is slowing down the rise in property values is forcing rental yields lower. Across all capital cities rental yields are at record lows of 3.4% for houses and 4.3% for units.

Rental costs in Australian capital cities

Capital          Rent (pw)    Change (pa)

Sydney         $592            +2.3%
Melbourne    $447           +2.1%
Brisbane       $431           +0.9%
Adelaide       $365           -0.2%
Perth            $462           -5.7%
Hobart          $336          +1.5%
Darwin          $539          -10.5%
Canberra      $491          +0.7%



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy