Local:
Sydney: Tue 9:47AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:47AM Tue14°
Melbourne9:47AM Tue14°
Brisbane8:47AM Tue17°
Perth6:47AM Tue11°
Adelaide9:17AM Tue
Hobart9:47AM Tue
Canberra9:47AM Tue10°
Darwin8:17AM Tue26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our bookozdirectory

Women drive Australia economy

10 September 2015 by News Desk

jobs_woman2The economy of Australia is being fueled by a huge rise in the number of women now employed in the workplace.

Both the workforce and the nature of jobs in Australia have changed over recent years. While the number of men employed has fallen by 1%, the number of women now in employment has increased by over 12% since 1992.

And the number of women aged 25-34 employed has increased from 51% to 75% in the past three decades.

And it’s not just young women that are now actively employed across Australia. The number of older women now working has more than doubled.

The participation rate for women aged 55–64 rose from 21% in 1979 to 56% in 2014, and the rate for women aged 65 and over rose from 2% to 8%.

Darrell Todd of thinkingaustralia says: “The workplace in Australia has changed – and not just in the way people work but in the type of work. Over recent decades the country has moved away from the male-dominated ‘bloke’ culture to a more equitable environment and in many areas women are driving the economy, a fact borne out by these latest official figures”.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies.
Cookie Policy Privacy policy