Haggle for best loan in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 6:31PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney6:31PM Mon25°
Melbourne6:31PM Mon24°
Brisbane5:31PM Mon30°
Perth3:31PM Mon29°
Adelaide6:01PM Mon35°
Hobart6:31PM Mon23°
Canberra6:31PM Mon31°
Darwin5:01PM Mon33°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Haggle for best loan in Australia

03 December 2015 by News Desk

finance_calculatorHomeowners in Australia could be getting a better deal on their mortgage or loan – if they just ask their lender.

Finance providers in Australia are currently in a price war and bidding against each other to attract and keep borrowers, and they are willing to offer discounts and better deals on interest rates – if you are prepared to haggle.

Darrell Todd of thinkingaustralia says: “Competition between lenders is fierce and so they are prepared to be flexible on the rates they charge. If homeowners are prepared to haggle they can get a much better rate on their loan or mortgage.”

“It is possible to get a discount of at least 1.5% off the standard variable home loan rate, simply by calling your bank and asking.”

A 1.5% reduction could save the average homeowner around $223 a month on repayments of a $300,000, 30-year loan.

Some lenders offer additional incentives such as cash back offers and frequent flyer points and, when pushed, some banks can offer borrowers savings of over $2,600 a year.

Says Darrell: “This month, around 27 home loan providers in Australia will increase their variable loan rates, so now is an ideal time to re-negotiate your loan or mortgage.”



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy