Flag raising ceremony in Hobart • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 7:58AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:58AM Tue17°
Melbourne7:58AM Tue
Brisbane6:58AM Tue20°
Perth4:58AM Tue16°
Adelaide7:28AM Tue
Hobart7:58AM Tue
Canberra7:58AM Tue11°
Darwin6:28AM Tue26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Flag raising ceremony in Hobart

08 July 2015 by News Desk

Aboriginal-flagCelebration of the multi-cultural society in Australia took place in Hobart with a ceremony to mark the raising of the official Aboriginal Flag.

The Aboriginal flag is an official flag of Australia and was recognised under Federal legislation in July 1995. Designed by Aboriginal Elder Harold Thomas the flag symbolises Aboriginal identity. The top half of the flag is black to represent the Aboriginal people. The red in the lower half represents the red earth (the relationship to the land) and the red ochre used in Aboriginal ceremonies. The circle of yellow represents the sun (giver of life) and yellow ochre.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander flags are a means of demonstrating recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, and encouraging access to key services. Flags can be used to promote a sense of community partnership.

A series of special Raising Ceremonies was held at the Tasmanian Aboriginal Centre in Hobart, Tasmania.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy