Firms compete for talent in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Wed 1:00AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney1:00AM Wed18°
Melbourne1:00AM Wed14°
Brisbane12:00AM Wed24°
Perth10:00PM Tue25°
Adelaide12:30AM Wed
Hobart1:00AM Wed10°
Canberra1:00AM Wed14°
Darwin11:30PM Tue26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Firms compete for talent in Australia

09 November 2015 by News Desk

jobs_officeCompetition for skilled workers among employers in Australia has led to major improvements in office design.

The booming economy in Australia is forcing companies to invest in latest interior design in order to attract and retain staff, says the winner of the Offices category at this year’s Inside Festival.

“Competing for the best talent is a serious issue. A lot of companies now see their workplace environment as a key part of their job offer,” Rob Backhouse, MD of award-winning architecture firm Hassell, told reporters.

‘Inside’ is an interior design festival held in tandem with the World Architecture Festival in Singapore.

The overall winner was the lobby and bar at Hotel Hotel in Canberra, designed by Melbourne-based March Studio. And Australian company Cox Rayner Architects won the health and education category for its University of Queensland Oral Health Centre.

Hassell won the Offices category for the Medibank building in Melbourne – now a new HQ for a major insurance company.

And modern design pays dividends, according to a survey of Medibank staff. 79% said their new building made them feel more collaborative, 70% said they felt healthier and 66% said they felt more productive. The company also reported a 5% fall in absenteeism since the move to the new headquarters.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy