Employment trends in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Wed 1:18AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney1:18AM Wed17°
Melbourne1:18AM Wed14°
Brisbane12:18AM Wed24°
Perth10:18PM Tue24°
Adelaide12:48AM Wed
Hobart1:18AM Wed10°
Canberra1:18AM Wed13°
Darwin11:48PM Tue26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Employment trends in Australia

17 September 2015 by News Desk

jobs_workersThe number of people aged 25-64 employed in Australia has risen by 5% with around 9.4 million now in work.

More people are working part-time. In 2014, 25% of Australians aged 25–64 worked part-time, an increase of 4% compared to a decade ago.

With more Australians participating in the workforce, more families are relying on child care. Almost half of all Australian children up to the age of 12 regularly attend either formal or informal child care in 2014.

And a greater proportion of older Australians now participate in the labour force. The participation rate of those aged 55 and over increased to 35% in 2014.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy