Emigrate to Australia - Great Barrier Reef • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 10:03PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:03PM Fri20°
Melbourne10:03PM Fri16°
Brisbane9:03PM Fri23°
Perth7:03PM Fri22°
Adelaide9:33PM Fri
Hobart10:03PM Fri13°
Canberra10:03PM Fri16°
Darwin8:33PM Fri31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Emigrate to Australia – Great Barrier Reef

28 August 2016 by News Desk

Emigrate to Australia: Researchers have discovered a vast reef behind the existing Great Barrier Reef.

Emigrate to AustraliaEmigrate to Australia: New laser-radar data from the Royal Australian Navy has revealed vast fields of strange doughnut-shaped circular mounds up to 300 metres across and 10 metres deep.

The newly-discovered reef is thought to extend for over 6,000 square kilometres. It was discovered via the use of LiDAR-equipped aircraft.

“We’ve known about these geological structures in the northern Great Barrier Reef since the 1980s but never before has the true nature of their shape, size and vast scale been revealed,” said Dr Robin Beaman of James Cook University.

“The seafloor behind the familiar coral reefs amazed us”.

The fields of circular donut-shaped rings are Halimeda bioherms, large reef-like geological structures formed by the growth of Halimeda, a common green algae composed of living calcified segments.

Emigrate to Australia – Great Barrier Reef

These form small limestone flakes on death, looking much like white cornflakes. Over time these flakes build up into large reef-like mounds, or bioherms.

They form a significant habitat which covers an area greater than the adjacent coral reefs.

Researchers have so far mapped over 6,000 square kilometres. That is three times the previously estimated size, ranging from the Torres Strait to north of Port Douglas.

Researchers want to find out what the 10-20 metre thick sediments reveal about past climate and environmental change on the Great Barrier Reef over a 10,000 year time-scale.

Future research will require sediment coring, sub-surface geophysical surveys and using underwater vehicle technologies to reveal the physical, chemical and biological processes of the structures.

Do you want to emigrate to Australia? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy