Doctors: work in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 11:35PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:35PM Fri17°
Melbourne11:35PM Fri12°
Brisbane11:35PM Fri20°
Perth9:35PM Fri16°
Adelaide11:05PM Fri
Hobart11:35PM Fri17°
Canberra11:35PM Fri10°
Darwin11:05PM Fri25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Doctors: work in Australia

13 February 2016 by News Desk

The healthcare industry in Australia continues to grow, creating demand for a wide range of doctors and healthcare professionals.

AustraliaQualified professionals seeking to live and work in Australia must be registered with the relevant healthcare governing body. Doctors must be accredited, and some must register with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency.

Sonographers must be accredited by the Australasian Sonographer Accreditation Registry. There are around 5140 qualified and active sonographers).

For Speech pathology, employers will require applicants to be members of Speech Pathology Australia.

Audiologists must have a Qualified Practitioner number issued by the Department of Health, a Certificate of Clinical Practice and membership with Audiology Australia or the Australian College of Audiology.

In recent years there’s been a big rise in both training and the number of registered professionals across all assessed occupations. There are currently:

11,414 diagnostic radiographers
2312 radiation therapists
4907 optometrists
28,950 pharmacists
15,853 dentists
17,047 occupational therapists
27,360 physiotherapists
4372 podiatrists

Training in speech pathology has risen 94.2 per cent, followed by Medical science with a rise of 84.3 per cent. Speech pathology has seen growth of 78.6 per cent while training in physiotherapy has increased by 59.3 per cent.

“Australia needs to recruit thousands of extra doctors and medical health professionals over the next three years in a bid to meet a continuing skills shortage,” says Darrell Todd, CEO of thinkingaustralia.

“If you are a qualified healthcare professional there are many opportunities for career progression in Australia.”

The number of job vacancies is forecast to increase by over 20 per cent – more than double the national average. Many hundreds of doctors and qualified health professionals are needed.

You may be considering a temporary career change in Australia, or may wish to live and work Down Under permanently. For a qualified professional there are a wide range of opportunities available.

Click here for Skilled Migration visas

 



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy