COVID-19 Support In Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Wed 9:46AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:46AM Wed21°
Melbourne9:46AM Wed20°
Brisbane8:46AM Wed24°
Perth6:46AM Wed17°
Adelaide9:16AM Wed
Hobart9:46AM Wed22°
Canberra9:46AM Wed17°
Darwin8:16AM Wed29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

COVID-19 Support In Australia

24 May 2020 by News Desk

COVID-19 Support In Australia: Coronavirus has created a wide range of challenges and affected society in many different ways. What are the key sources of support for people impacted by the current environment?

Latest reports show that most common sources of support are: Family member; Private or public organisation or service and Friend or work colleague.

During the period early-April to early-May One in ten adults (10%) sought support from others due to COVID-19, including 12% of women and 8% of men; and

A family member was the most common source of support for both persons aged 18 to 64 years (68%*) and those aged 65 years and over (73%*).

The survey asked respondents if they sought support from others for tasks they would normally do themselves or for other reasons, such as financial help, due to COVID-19. This includes support received from family and friends as well as community organisations and agencies.

During the period early-April to early-May:

One in ten adults (10%) sought support from others due to COVID-19, including 12% of women and 8% of men; and
Persons aged 65 years and over were three times as likely as those aged 18 to 64 years to seek support from others due to COVID-19 (21% compared with 7%).

The majority of adults who sought support over the period early-April to early-May due to COVID-19 were able to get support either all or some of the time (95%). This was a similar result to when people were asked if they could get support from persons living outside their household in times of crisis in 2014 (General Social Survey).

Sources of support

Of those who received support over the period early-April to early-May due to COVID-19, the most common sources of support were:

Family member (71%*);
Private or public organisation or service (33%*); and
Friend or work colleague (17%*).
A family member was the most common source of support for both persons aged 18 to 64 years (68%*) and those aged 65 years and over (73%*).

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy