Car exhaust scandal hits Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 9:50PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:50PM Fri20°
Melbourne9:50PM Fri16°
Brisbane8:50PM Fri23°
Perth6:50PM Fri22°
Adelaide9:20PM Fri
Hobart9:50PM Fri13°
Canberra9:50PM Fri16°
Darwin8:20PM Fri31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Car exhaust scandal hits Australia

05 October 2015 by News Desk

travel_VW logoThe vehicle exhaust-emissions scandal that has rocked the US and Europe has arrived in Australia.

Two major manufacturers in Australia are suspending the sale of certain vehicles fitted with diesel engines after it was found that manufacturers had been ‘cheating’ in tests that measure the amount of greenhouse gasses released by diesel vehicle engines.

Volkswagen says it will immediately halt the sale of vehicles fitted with 1.6 or 2.0-litre EA189 diesel engines. “The suspension will remain until the emission issues are addressed in those vehicles,” the company said in a statement.

Audi is also suspending the sale of vehicles fitted with the 2.0-litre EA189 diesel engine. This relates to the Audi A4, A5 and Q5, with a 2.0 TDI engine. Existing customers will be contacted in coming weeks with news about how their cars will be retro-fitted.

There are over 40,000 vehicles already on the road in Australia that have been fitted with the diesel engines at the centre of the emissions scandal.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy