Local:
Sydney: Mon 3:50PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney3:50PM Mon21°
Melbourne3:50PM Mon26°
Brisbane2:50PM Mon27°
Perth12:50PM Mon29°
Adelaide3:20PM Mon
Hobart3:50PM Mon24°
Canberra3:50PM Mon19°
Darwin2:20PM Mon31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Canberra Theatre sets record

12 September 2015 by News Desk

ent_canberraTheatreCentreCanberra has seen a record number of people attending the theatre in the past year.

Almost 230,000 people attended shows at the Canberra Theatre Centre (pictured) over the past 12 months, an increase of 33,000 compared to the previous year. Joy Burch, Minister for the Arts, said 229,993 visitors saw a live performance in 2014-15, generating $4.2 million for the city economy.

High-profile performances including Sweet Charity and Le Noir helped boost ticket sales. The two shows alone attracted a combined audience of over 17,000 and generated more than $500,000 in ticket sales.

The success of recent shows has paved the way for top-line shows such as The Illusionists 1903 and comedian Carl Barron who’ll be performing in Canberra later this year.

“Productions of this calibre generate high interest from the surrounding region, which drives economic growth through tourism and hospitality. I am pleased to see these positive results for Canberra and the continuing strength of the Canberra arts scene,” Ms Burch said.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies.
Cookie Policy Privacy policy