Canberra needs skilled midwives • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 6:29AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney6:29AM Tue14°
Melbourne6:29AM Tue
Brisbane6:29AM Tue15°
Perth4:29AM Tue10°
Adelaide5:59AM Tue
Hobart6:29AM Tue
Canberra6:29AM Tue
Darwin5:59AM Tue25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Canberra needs skilled midwives

11 September 2015 by News Desk

canberra03More skilled midwives are needed for hospitals in Canberra, Australia.

There is a national shortage of practising midwives across the country and hospitals in Canberra are feeling the pressure, officials say.

Jenny Miragaya of the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation said: “There is a national and international crisis with regards to shortage of nurses and midwives.”

And she says the problem is two-fold – trained midwives leaving the profession and the unwillingness of employers to take on new graduates.

Marie Heath, National President of Midwives Australia, says: “We must make sure that midwives are retained because we have a lot of midwives that are leaving the profession after they achieve their qualifications.”

Across Australia, the most common outpatient services are midwifery and maternity (1.7 million services) and orthopaedics (960,000 services).

Darrell Todd of thinkingaustralia says: “If you are a qualified midwife or nurse looking for a career or lifestyle change then Australia needs you. Contact us today to find out how you could soon be living and working in Australia”.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy