Canberra cyclist wins world gold • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 8:16AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:16AM Fri15°
Melbourne8:16AM Fri
Brisbane8:16AM Fri18°
Perth6:16AM Fri14°
Adelaide7:46AM Fri
Hobart8:16AM Fri
Canberra8:16AM Fri
Darwin7:46AM Fri24°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Canberra cyclist wins world gold

05 August 2015 by News Desk

sport_SuePowellCanberra is the home of the world’s most successful paracyclist.

Sue Powell, who is based in the city, won gold and silver medals at the London Olympics three years ago. After a string of cycle race victories since then, Powell this week won a silver medal at the C4 women’s road race in Switzerland, four minutes behind winner Shawn Morelli from the USA.

A day earlier Powell, 48, finished fourth in the C4 women’s individual time trial.
She now has two silver and three bronze medals from road races, having also finished second in the same event last year.

Powell also won gold and silver at the world track champs in Holland in March. She is now preparing for the 2016 Paralympics in Rio de Janeiro, where she will be looking to defend the gold and silver medal prizes she won at the London Olympics



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy