2,500 shipyard jobs in Adelaide • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 11:06PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:06PM Fri20°
Melbourne11:06PM Fri16°
Brisbane10:06PM Fri23°
Perth8:06PM Fri21°
Adelaide10:36PM Fri
Hobart11:06PM Fri12°
Canberra11:06PM Fri16°
Darwin9:36PM Fri30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

2,500 shipyard jobs in Adelaide

05 August 2015 by News Desk

jobs_shipbuildingGovernment plans to build a new fleet of warships in Australia will create and secure thousands of jobs in Adelaide.

Prime Minister Tony Abbott says that up to 2,500 shipbuilding jobs in the city will be safe for “all time” as a result of a $39 billion plan to build a new fleet of warships for the Australian navy.

Construction of new Corvette offshore vessels will start in 2018 and building of eight new Frigates is due to begin in 2020. Further new jobs will be created with the building of a $50bn fleet of 12 new submarines.

The Prime Minister says the tender process for both projects will begin in October and that successful bidders will be required to conduct the “major build in South Australia”.

“It’s a terrific announcement for Adelaide,” Abbot told reporters. “Two thousand five hundred shipbuilding jobs, safe for Adelaide, for all time.”



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy