Biggest snow in Hobart for 30yrs • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 9:08AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:08AM Fri13°
Melbourne9:08AM Fri14°
Brisbane9:08AM Fri18°
Perth7:08AM Fri16°
Adelaide8:38AM Fri
Hobart9:08AM Fri12°
Canberra9:08AM Fri
Darwin8:38AM Fri27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Biggest snow in Hobart for 30yrs

04 August 2015 by News Desk

winterThe city of Hobart is experiencing its’ biggest snowfall for three decades.

Residents awoke this week to find a blanket of snow had fallen across city in the biggest dump of ‘white stuff’ since 1986. The snow has even fallen on some beaches around Hobart.

Meteorologists say record snowfall comes from very cold air that has travelled in a big cold front up from Antarctica. There was a big snowfall in Hobart in 2005 but it was not as widespread as this week’s winter event.

Videos of children surfing on a Hobart beach in the snow have proved popular and have gone ‘viral’ around the world.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy