Brisbane water wonderland • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 9:37PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:37PM Sun13°
Melbourne9:37PM Sun
Brisbane9:37PM Sun14°
Perth7:37PM Sun16°
Adelaide9:07PM Sun
Hobart9:37PM Sun
Canberra9:37PM Sun
Darwin9:07PM Sun27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Brisbane water wonderland

01 February 2016 by News Desk

brisbane_SomersetDrive1If you’re seeking a world-beating outdoor experience, the waterfalls, lakes and landscape around Brisbane, Australia will live in your memory for a lifetime.

The Brisbane region of Queensland is packed with cascading waterfalls, expansive lakes and breathtaking scenery. Strap on hiking boots and hit the trails to discover cooling waterfalls and waterholes, or enjoy some fishing, boating or swimming on one of Brisbane’s lakes. (pictured – Ellinjaa Falls)

Here are some of the top waterfall and lake locations in and around Brisbane:

Cedar Creek Falls, Scenic Rim – Take a day trip to the lush area of Mt Tamborine where you will find Cedar Creek Falls. It’s worth the walk to the rock pools at its base where you can peer up at the 15-20m waterfall.

Curtis Falls, Scenic Rim – Located in the heart of Tamborine Mountain National Park, the 1.1km track through the mossy forest leads to a viewing platform overlooking a large rock pool.

Chalahn, Box Log and Elabana Falls, Lamington National Park – You’ll feel a drop in temperature as you descend into the Green Mountains section of Lamington National Park. For many, the quest for the three waterfalls begins at O’Reilly’s Rainforest Retreat, a resort at the end of Lamington National Park Rd.

Chalahn Falls can be found half-way along the 17.4km Toolona Creek Circuit. From the O’Reilly’s car park, the 10.6km Box Forest Circuit will lead you to Box Log Falls, one of the many waterfalls you will find on the journey.

It takes three hours to walk to the Elabana Falls but the journey is more than worth it.

In Lamington National Park one of the most breathtaking views can be seen at Coomera and Yarrabilgong Falls – along the 8km return trail in the Binna Burra section of the park.

Mirror Falls, also at Lamington National Park, is not for the faint-hearted. The 20.6km walking track along the Albert River Circuit takes you to Mirror Falls where the magical view is more than worth the effort to get there.

Mt Coot-tha Reserve, Brisbane – Location of one of the best views for capturing an iconic shot of Brisbane, it has two great waterfalls and places for a picnic or barbecue. JC Slaughter Falls and Simpson Falls are a 10-minute drive from Brisbane and can be found along Sir Samuel Griffith Drive. They’re seen best during the wet season.

Lips Falls and Denham Falls, Scenic Rim – Located in the Denham Scenic Reserve in Beechmont, these waterfalls are spectacularly beautiful and until recent were unknown gems frequented solely by the local community. Popular with bushwalkers and photographers, Denham Falls can be found along the 3km Back Creek Gorge Track. From here, descend through cooling rainforest to Lips Falls.

Picture: Neal Prichard
Info courtesy of visitbrisbane.com.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy