Australia’s best airport • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 11:29AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:29AM Thu18°
Melbourne11:29AM Thu14°
Brisbane11:29AM Thu17°
Perth9:29AM Thu10°
Adelaide10:59AM Thu
Hobart11:29AM Thu12°
Canberra11:29AM Thu12°
Darwin10:59AM Thu26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia’s best airport

25 March 2016 by News Desk

Brisbane scored the highest ‘Excellent’ ratings to make it Australia’s best airport with Perth rated second overall.

Australia’s best airportAustralia’s best airport scored highest for check-in waiting time, immigration waiting time, baggage waiting time, security searches, wait time for taxis and other key indicators such as ease of finding baggage trolleys.

Australia’s best airport – Perth also won ‘Excellent’ ranking for its’ standard of check-in and baggage processing facilities.

Sydney and Melbourne airports were ranked ‘Poor’ for many of the same facilities and services. But officials say many improvements have and are being made to bring both airports up to ‘Excellent’ standard.

Brisbane Airport was found to have the highest quality of service of the four monitored airports according to the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission.

Both Brisbane and Perth were found to provide ‘good’ quality of service while Melbourne and Sydney airports were rated as ‘satisfactory’.

Service quality will of service improve in future thanks to new investment. Melbourne Airport is spending $484 million on building a new passenger terminal. Brisbane ($334 million) and Perth ($250 million) are also investing in record levels of aeronautical assets

Major projects include the new runway at Brisbane Airport, the new domestic terminal at Melbourne Airport and Perth Airport’s Terminal 1 International and Domestic Pier.

Save 60% on airport parking

Aside from the cost of a plane ticket, the biggest cost of travelling is often parking at the airport. Some operators make up to 73 cents profit on every dollar spent on airport parking.

Travellers can save a lot of money if they book car parking online, especially if planning a long-term journey.

The ACCC report found that consumers parking at airports could save up to 66.5 per cent for longer durations by booking online.

Passenger traffic at Melbourne airport increased by 3.6 per cent in 2015 to 32.2 million. It was the largest rise of all of the four major airports. Sydney Airport remains Australia’s busiest airport, used by around 38 million passengers every year.

Click here for information on Aussie travel visas: Travel Visas

Click here for tourist info about Australia: Visit Down Under



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy