Australian driving rules • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 9:58AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:58AM Fri16°
Melbourne9:58AM Fri15°
Brisbane9:58AM Fri20°
Perth7:58AM Fri17°
Adelaide9:28AM Fri
Hobart9:58AM Fri13°
Canberra9:58AM Fri12°
Darwin9:28AM Fri28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australian driving rules

04 April 2016 by News Desk

Changes to Australian driving rules affect how motorists in Western Australia use the state’s freeways.

Australian driving rulesRoad-users in Perth and across W.A. will soon follow the same Australian driving rules as most other states.

The changes to Australian driving rules involve the practice of ‘merging’ into oncoming traffic when entering a freeway.

New road-markings – continuity merge lines – between freeway on-ramps and traffic lanes mean that entering vehicles must now give way to freeway traffic.

Previously, the car in front had right of way and drivers were expected to merge into the traffic flow ‘like a zip.’

State Transport Minister Dean Nalder admits that drivers in West Australia do not have a great reputation when it comes to merging. He told reporters: “By adopting smarter transport options we can improve merging, reduce congestion and enhance safety.”

The state government is now spending $8.5 million on new on-ramp configurations at over 70 locations on freeways and highways aimed at keeping traffic moving.

The new road-markings were first rolled out on main roads in Perth at the start of the year. The whole project will be completed over the next two weeks.

The changes to Australian driving rules in W.A. follow a trial on the Kwinana Freeway in Perth which produced positive results with fewer incidents at freeway merge points.

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for more info: Jobs in Australia

Click here for info on travel visas: Travel to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Down Under



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy