Australia tennis star bows out • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 8:23PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:23PM Sun13°
Melbourne8:23PM Sun10°
Brisbane8:23PM Sun15°
Perth6:23PM Sun17°
Adelaide7:53PM Sun
Hobart8:23PM Sun
Canberra8:23PM Sun
Darwin7:53PM Sun27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia tennis star bows out

24 January 2016 by News Desk

sport_LeytonHewittAustralia tennis legend Lleyton Hewitt marked the end of his singles career with a spirited performance at the Australian Open.

Hewitt, a former world number one player, gave 100% in his match against David Ferrer in the second round of the competition but was eventually beaten in three sets by the Spaniard.

Hewitt, 34, who won two Grand Slam titles, has one more doubles match to play before becoming captain of Australia’s Davis Cup team. He says he’ll play no more singles matches.

Lleyton Hewitt has been one of Australia’s best-loved and most successful tennis players.

He won 30 singles tour titles; he beat all-comers at the US Open in 2001 and was Wimbledon singles champion in 2002. He also helped Australia to win the Davis Cup in 1999 and 2003. He won 58 singles and doubles matches for his country between 1999 and 2015, an Australian record.

“My whole career I’ve given 100%. Playing for Australia has always been my biggest honour,” Hewitt told reporters. “It’s the perfect place to finish.”



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy