Australia population slowdown • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 6:43AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney6:43AM Tue17°
Melbourne6:43AM Tue
Brisbane5:43AM Tue18°
Perth3:43AM Tue17°
Adelaide6:13AM Tue
Hobart6:43AM Tue
Canberra6:43AM Tue10°
Darwin5:13AM Tue26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia population slowdown

02 October 2015 by News Desk

family_03The population of Australia is growing at its slowest rate for almost a decade.

The number of additional people in Australia grew by 1.35% in the past 12 months, the lowest rate since March 2006.

A fall in net migration (the difference between the number of people leaving and the number of people arriving) has, in part, led to the slowdown in population growth.

In the 12 months to December 2012 there was a net migrant increase of 237,000 people. In the 12 months to March 2015 year the increase was just 173,000. A total of 8,250 migrants arrived in Australia from the UK in 2014/15.

And there has been a change in the places where people prefer to live. In the past decade Western Australia has been the top destination for migrants due to the mining industry boom.

But now Victoria is the state that has witnessed the biggest influx of new residents. It now has the highest population growth of any state in Australia.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy