Australia population growth • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 7:23AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:23AM Tue14°
Melbourne7:23AM Tue
Brisbane7:23AM Tue15°
Perth5:23AM Tue10°
Adelaide6:53AM Tue
Hobart7:23AM Tue
Canberra7:23AM Tue
Darwin6:53AM Tue25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia population growth

21 June 2020 by News Desk

Australia population growth increased by 1.4 per cent during the year ending 31 December 2019, according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

ABS Demography Director Lauren Ford said: “The population at 31 December 2019 was 25.5 million people, following an annual increase of 349,800 people.”

Natural increase accounted for 39.8 per cent of annual population growth, while net overseas migration accounted for the remaining 60.2 per cent.

There were 305,800 births and 166,700 deaths registered in Australia during the year ending 31 December 2019.

Natural increase during this period was 139,200 people, a decrease of 5.2 per cent from the previous year.

There were 533,500 overseas migration arrivals and 322,900 departures during the year ending 31 December 2019, resulting in net overseas migration of 210,700 people.

Net overseas migration was down 16.5 per cent compared to the previous year.

This was due to an increase in overseas migration departures (14.4 per cent) coupled with relatively stable arrivals (0.2 per cent decrease).

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy