Australia PM rides high in polls • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 9:01PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:01PM Fri19°
Melbourne9:01PM Fri14°
Brisbane9:01PM Fri22°
Perth7:01PM Fri18°
Adelaide8:31PM Fri
Hobart9:01PM Fri18°
Canberra9:01PM Fri12°
Darwin8:31PM Fri28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia PM rides high in polls

24 September 2015 by News Desk

malcolmturnbullThe new prime minister of Australia, Malcolm Turnbull, is the country’s most popular prime minister in more than five years.

A new poll in a national newspaper shows Turnbull 18 points higher than former PM Tony Abbot received before he was ousted as Liberal Party leader. And the poll shows that, in addition to Abbot, Turnbull is more popular than former PM’s Julia Gillard and Kevin Rudd.

The poll in The Australian newspaper this week found that 55% of respondents preferred Turnbull as prime minister.

And the poll also showed that Turnbull has a 34-point lead over opposition leader Bill Shorten, who had consistently beaten former PM Tony Abbott in previous national surveys.

Darrell Todd of thinkingaustralia says: “Whether you support Malcolm Turnbull of not this new poll shows that, with the opposition previously ahead in the polls, the Liberal Party were right to get rid of Tony Abbott”.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy