Australia needs entrepreneurs • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 7:51AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:51AM Tue17°
Melbourne7:51AM Tue
Brisbane6:51AM Tue20°
Perth4:51AM Tue16°
Adelaide7:21AM Tue
Hobart7:51AM Tue
Canberra7:51AM Tue11°
Darwin6:21AM Tue26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia needs entrepreneurs

01 November 2015 by News Desk

edu_OpenUniversityAustraliaAustralia needs to become an entrepreneurial country and universities are being urged to invest more in business start-up activity.

That’s the view of a new report that urges universities in Australia to do more to encourage a new generation of entrepreneurs and business leaders. The report, by Australia’s outgoing chief scientist Prof Ian Chubb, says university funding should be linked to the number of business start-ups created by staff and graduates.

The report calls for increased emphasis on economic impact measures such as start-ups created by staff and graduates, capital raised and jobs created, with a particular focus on science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

“Incentives linked to funding would also encourage universities to recognise academic staff for engagement in student entrepreneurship activities,” the report says.

“From the United States to Korea, fostering entrepreneurs has become a national priority, pursued with energy, ambition and imagination. Australia needs to become known as an entrepreneurial country, not just a lucky one.”



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy