Swim with whales in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 8:42AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:42AM Mon20°
Melbourne8:42AM Mon17°
Brisbane7:42AM Mon23°
Perth5:42AM Mon21°
Adelaide8:12AM Mon
Hobart8:42AM Mon14°
Canberra8:42AM Mon14°
Darwin7:12AM Mon28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Swim with whales in Australia

01 November 2015 by News Desk

WA_humpback-whaleNature-lovers will soon, for the first time, be able to swim with Humpback whales in Western Australia.

Tours are being arranged to give people the chance to swim with humpback whales in Western Australia following the success of a similar scheme with whale sharks at Ningaloo Marine Park. Now people will get the opportunity to swim up close with humpback whales at Coral Bay and Exmouth in W.A.

It’ll be a rare experience as tours that allow people to swim with humpback whales are currently only available in Mexico, Tonga and Queensland.

The humpback whale was previously an endangered species on the West Australian coast, but since the end of commercial whaling in the 1960s, conservation efforts have helped save the mammal whose population in W.A is now around 30,000.

“The WA population has recovered better than any other humpback whale population in the world. It’s one of the real conservation success stories of WA with the species now fully recovered, said Environment Minister Albert Jacob in launching the new scheme.

Only one group will be allowed within 300 metres of a whale at any given time and the maximum size of a group will be 10. The tours will run from August-October.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy