Australia house prices fall • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 5:00AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney5:00AM Fri14°
Melbourne5:00AM Fri
Brisbane5:00AM Fri15°
Perth3:00AM Fri16°
Adelaide4:30AM Fri
Hobart5:00AM Fri
Canberra5:00AM Fri
Darwin4:30AM Fri26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia house prices fall

16 September 2015 by News Desk

property_03The price of homes in 50% of Australia capital cities has fallen over the past three months.

Darwin recorded the biggest fall in values with prices dropping by 3.2% over the past quarter. Prices in Perth were down by 1.5%, Canberra is 0.8% lower and Adelaide prices are slightly lower, at 0.1%.

The average price of a house in Adelaide is now $425,000 while average cost of a Unit (apartment) is $342,000.

While prices in some major cities are falling, homes in other capital cities have continued to increase in value, although at a slower rate than previously, suggesting a wider slowdown of house price inflation.

Sydney had the highest monthly rise, with property prices in August increasing by 1.1%. Adelaide is up by 0.7% while prices in Darwin rose just 0.3%. House prices in Melbourne and Brisbane have shown no change.

Darrell Todd of thinkingaustralia says: “These latest figures are good news for migrants seeking to buy a home in Australia. If current trends continue, house and unit prices will continue to fall during the rest of 2015 and into 2016.”



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy