Adelaide aims to be carbon-free • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 7:31PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:31PM Sun13°
Melbourne7:31PM Sun10°
Brisbane7:31PM Sun17°
Perth5:31PM Sun18°
Adelaide7:01PM Sun
Hobart7:31PM Sun
Canberra7:31PM Sun
Darwin7:01PM Sun31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Adelaide aims to be carbon-free

16 September 2015 by News Desk

tech_solar panelsAdelaide has launched a new plan to become the first carbon neutral city in the world.

The government of South Australia has set out a new strategy to de-carbonise its economy and aims to reduce carbon emissions by 60% in coming years.

A panel of experts has been appointed to provide advice on climate policy and how to create jobs in clean energy technology and other low-carbon opportunities.

The new strategy paper, which will be open for public consultation, sets a goal of attracting $10bn in low-carbon investment in South Australia.

Ian Hunter, South Australia’s climate change and environment minister, said the strategy was needed due to the federal governments’ “woeful” approach to climate change and renewable energy.

Mr Hunter told reporters: “The jobs and industries of the future are renewable energy and clean tech. We know we need to decarbonise our economy and there is $4bn already in the pipeline for low carbon economic activity.”

Nearly 40% of South Australia’s electricity is now generated from renewable energy sources and the state has the highest rate of roof top solar photo voltaic (PV) installations in the country.

Adelaide aims to go carbon neutral by focusing on the efficiency of transport and buildings, and provide help for property owners that want to save energy or install solar panels. A trial of driverless cars is to be held in Adelaide, while improved waste management and recycling is also a priority.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy