Australia celebrates the New Year • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 2:03AM
Select Destination
LocationTimeTemp
Sydney2:03AM Sun15°
Melbourne2:03AM Sun10°
Brisbane1:03AM Sun19°
Perth11:03PM Sat20°
Adelaide1:33AM Sun
Hobart2:03AM Sun10°
Canberra2:03AM Sun
Darwin12:33AM Sun29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia celebrates the New Year

01 January 2016 by News Desk

fireworks1Australia celebrated the New Year in flamboyant style with spectacular midnight fireworks displays across the country.

In New Zealand, the Auckland sky was lit up with half a ton of fireworks launched from the Sky Tower. The five-minute, 360-degree show was broadcast around the world as thousands of people gathered below to watch the spectacle.

In Sydney more than a million people filled parks and streets to watch the city’s $7 million New Year show. The 2016 party started at 6pm with an air display over the Sydney harbour then at 8.40pm the bridge’s pylons were lit up for the welcoming ceremony.

A stunning firework ‘waterfall’ cascaded from the Sydney Harbour Bridge while pyrotechnic butterflies, octopuses and flowers lit up the sky. Yellow flares erupted out of the bridge lighting up the city as the clock struck 12 midnight. The firework display was the biggest ever with an extra 2400 effects.

In Melbourne around 500,000 people gathered in the city and along the banks of the Yarra to watch a spectacular show featuring 10 tonnes of fireworks.

In Canberra, crowds watched as fireworks were launched from City Hall while coloured flames shot out from rooftops at Civic Square.

In Tasmania, thousands gathered to celebrate the New Year at the Falls Festival in Marion Bay.

In Adelaide thousands of revellers gathered at beachside events at Brighton and Glenelg while in the city centre the biggest midnight firework display ever staged by Adelaide City Council took place at Torrens Lake.

In Hobart, families gathered around the waterfront precinct to celebrate a four hour show of entertainment and fireworks.

In Brisbane, the sky was lit up by 30,000 fireworks launched from barges on the Brisbane River and on three rooftops. Revellers gathered at vantage points at South Bank with restaurants, pubs and clubs reporting record business.

Darwin celebrated New Year with a midnight firework show at the Waterfront during an Aussie outback-themed event.

In Perth, more than 4,500 families attended the New Year’s Eve party at Perth Zoo while thousands gathered at free outdoor events at Northbridge, Burswood, Claremont Show grounds and Rockingham to watch firework displays.

Sydney will wake up to sunny skies on New Years Day with a top temperature of 25 degrees. Melbourne will enjoy a warm 39 degrees on Thursday but a cool change is set to arrive, to soothe hung-over heads.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy