Australia air flights up and down • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 10:20AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:20AM Thu19°
Melbourne10:20AM Thu15°
Brisbane10:20AM Thu17°
Perth8:20AM Thu14°
Adelaide9:50AM Thu
Hobart10:20AM Thu17°
Canberra10:20AM Thu
Darwin9:50AM Thu27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Australia air flights up and down

26 September 2015 by News Desk

travel-planes01There has been a rise in international flights to Australia but a fall in the number of people using domestic flights.

Domestic air traffic in Australia has fallen by 1% over the past year while an increase in the number of international visitors using Australian airports has increased.

In 2014, almost 60 million passengers were carried on Australian domestic routes, a fall of 0.9% compared to 2013 but the number of flights (689,162) fell by 1.5%.

The Melbourne – Sydney route remains Australia’s busiest with 8.45 million passengers, a rise of 2.2%, followed by Brisbane to Sydney with 4.41 million passengers (-1%), and Brisbane to Melbourne with 3.32 million passengers, a rise of 1.3%.

Queensland has seen the largest fall in passenger numbers with four routes from Brisbane recording falls of over 14%. Western Australia has seen a fall in inter-state passenger numbers at airports across the state with Newman down 14.5%, Port Hedland down 7.2%, Karratha down 5.1% and Broome down 4.8%.

Passenger traffic on the Perth to Darwin route rose 4% while passenger numbers through Kalgoorlie increased by 2%, according to latest official figures from the Bureau of Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Economics.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies.
Cookie Policy Privacy policy