Victoria is top state in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 6:11PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney6:11PM Sun14°
Melbourne6:11PM Sun11°
Brisbane6:11PM Sun19°
Perth4:11PM Sun20°
Adelaide5:41PM Sun
Hobart6:11PM Sun11°
Canberra6:11PM Sun10°
Darwin5:41PM Sun31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Victoria is top state in Australia

26 September 2015 by News Desk

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAVictoria is the number one destination for migrants and inter-state re-locations in Australia.

The population of Victoria has grown by 1.7% in the past year, making it the fastest-growing state in Australia with an extra 97,500 citizens. New South Wales and Western Australia, in second and third place, have seen growth rates of 1.4% (the national average) and is the slowest rate for ten years.

The slowdown in Australia’s population growth is the result, in part, of a fall in the birth rate and an increase in Australians moving overseas.

Victoria (Melbourne, pictured) has seen an increase in internal migration driven by more affordable housing and good job prospects. In the past six months alone almost 38,000 Australians have moved to Victoria from other states and only 31,900 Victorians have left.

More than 45,000 Australians moved to New South Wales but 48,800 NSW residents departed. Victoria and Queensland are the only two states gaining population as a result of interstate migration, according to latest figures from the Australian Bureau of Statistics.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy