Apprenticeships in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 9:30PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:30PM Mon23°
Melbourne9:30PM Mon17°
Brisbane8:30PM Mon23°
Perth6:30PM Mon23°
Adelaide9:00PM Mon21°
Hobart9:30PM Mon15°
Canberra9:30PM Mon21°
Darwin8:00PM Mon30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Apprenticeships in Australia

28 December 2015 by News Desk

jobs_tools2Apprenticeships are available to anyone of working age in Australia.

You do not need a secondary school certificate or other qualification to be able to do an Australian Apprenticeship. You can do an Australian Apprenticeship if you are a school-leaver, re-entering the workforce or as an adult worker simply wishing to change careers.

You can even begin your Australian Apprenticeship while you’re still at school finishing Years 11 and 12.

Australian Apprenticeships offer opportunities for you to train, study and earn an income at a variety of qualification levels in most occupations as well as in traditional trades.

As an Australian Apprentice you can combine time at work with training, and can be either fulltime, part-time or school-based.

When you finish your Australian Apprenticeship, you will have a nationally recognised qualification that can take you anywhere in Australia and one that is held in high regard in many overseas countries as well.

You will have many options for your future to think about and choose from.
Australian Apprenticeships offer a range of benefits, they:

Are a great way to get a head start in a chosen career
Involve paid work and structured training that can be on-the-job, off-the-job or a combination of both
Represent ‘competency based’ training which means individuals can complete their training faster when they reach the required skills level
Enable existing skills and prior experience to be recognised and course credit granted, potentially reducing formal training time.
Are available as full-time or part-time, including part-time in many schools
Lead to nationally recognised qualifications and skills which provide the basis for further education and training over the course of a person’s working life; and
Are an important pathway from school to work.

Eligibility
Australian Apprenticeships (often referred to as apprenticeships or traineeships) are available to anyone of working age.

You do not need a secondary school certificate or other qualification to be able to start an Australian Apprenticeship.

You can do an Australian Apprenticeship if you are a school leaver, re-entering the workforce or as an adult worker simply wishing to change careers or gain new skills.
You can even start your Australian Apprenticeship while you are still at school finishing Years 11 and 12.

Occupations

Australian Apprenticeships are available in a variety of certificate levels in more than 500 occupations across Australia, in traditional trades, as well as a diverse range of emerging careers in most sectors of business and industry, including:

Agriculture, horticulture and related industries
Automotive
Building and construction
Business services
Finance services
Food
Hairdressing
Community services and health
Information technology
Light manufacturing
Local government
Metals and engineering
Printing
Process manufacturing
Property services
Public services
Retail
Seafood
Sport and recreation
Telecommunications
Tourism
Transport and distribution
Utilities and energy

For more info go to: http://www.australianapprenticeships.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy