Affordable suburbs in Sydney • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 1:18AM
Select Destination
LocationTimeTemp
Sydney1:18AM Sun16°
Melbourne1:18AM Sun11°
Brisbane12:18AM Sun19°
Perth10:18PM Sat21°
Adelaide12:48AM Sun10°
Hobart1:18AM Sun10°
Canberra1:18AM Sun
Darwin11:48PM Sat29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Affordable suburbs in Sydney

04 January 2016 by News Desk

sydney03House prices in Sydney, Australia may have reached record highs but affordable homes can be found in the suburbs.

A new report – the Urban Living Index – identifies the most liveable suburbs in Sydney where people can afford to live. Lalor Park in the city’s west is named the best suburb based on affordability, employment, lifestyle and community.

Located 35km west of Sydney city centre, Lalor Park has an average house price of $602,550 and scores highly on road and rail transport links to the capital and nearby commercial centre of Blacktown.

Other top-ranked suburbs are Kings Langley in the city’s west, along with Menai and Blaxland. Crows Nest-Waverton, Surry Hills and Pyrmont-Ultimo were recently named as the most liveable suburbs in the city.

Suburbs such as Wahroonga on the upper north shore and Newport on the northern beaches score high on amenities such as schools, shopping and transport.

Menai, 30km south of Sydney, is outstanding for its high level of employment and a solid local economy.

Blaxland, where the average price of a home is less than $600,000, is ranked third for liveability among the most affordable suburbs. The suburb of Kurrajong, past Richmond, also ranks high on the Urban Living Index.

The Urban Living Index ranks 228 Sydney locales on 20 indicators that measure employability, lifestyle and community, based on Australian Bureau of Statistics data. The index was commissioned by the Urban Taskforce, an industry group representing property developers.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy