Affordable education in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 8:31AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:31AM Fri10°
Melbourne8:31AM Fri13°
Brisbane8:31AM Fri15°
Perth6:31AM Fri17°
Adelaide8:01AM Fri
Hobart8:31AM Fri12°
Canberra8:31AM Fri
Darwin8:01AM Fri26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Affordable education in Australia

20 January 2016 by News Desk

edu_boy1Hobart in Tasmania is the most affordable city in Australia to educate a child in a government or religious school.

A new report estimates that the cost of educating a child born in 2016 would total $45,114 throughout their school years in the government system in Hobart, one third less than the national average of $66,862

Education costs in Hobart are lower than other capital cities with total costs in Melbourne at $75,193, Sydney $73,063 and Brisbane $58,843 according to the report by national educational fund ASG.

Religious school education in Hobart also is the most affordable among state capitals with an estimated overall cost of $196,089 – over $30,000 less than the national average for metropolitan areas.

The cost of private schooling in Hobart is estimated at $421,309 – 10% less than the national metropolitan average but more expensive than Perth, Adelaide and Brisbane.

The cost of schooling in regional areas of Tasmania is estimated at $340,214 for private schooling – around $10,000 greater than the predicted national regional average and the third-most expensive after regional Victoria and New South Wales.

Based on more than 12,500 responses from members, the ASG Planning for Education Index includes a range of variables, including school fees, transport, uniforms, computers and excursions, to predict the overall cost of education.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy