81,000 empty homes in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 11:21PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:21PM Fri17°
Melbourne11:21PM Fri12°
Brisbane11:21PM Fri20°
Perth9:21PM Fri16°
Adelaide10:51PM Fri
Hobart11:21PM Fri17°
Canberra11:21PM Fri10°
Darwin10:51PM Fri25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

81,000 empty homes in Australia

20 January 2016 by News Desk

property_house02There’s been a rise in the number of empty residential properties in Australia.

December 2015 saw an increase in the number rental properties without a tenant and there are now 81,401 houses, units and apartments now standing empty in major cities across Australia.

Around 2.7% of all rental properties are empty across the country with a big increase in vacancies in Perth and Darwin, according to the latest report by SQM Research that says vacancies increased in every capital city between November and December.

Darwin has the highest vacancy rate at 4.2%, followed by Perth with 4.1%. Brisbane has 2.9% of properties empty across the city; Melbourne has 2.8% while Sydney and Adelaide have a vacancy rate of 2.1%. In Hobart however, the vacancy rate is 1.1% with just 302 homes currently empty.

Melbourne has 13,521 properties without a tenant; Sydney has 12,605 vacant homes; Brisbane has 9,202; Perth 8,236; Adelaide 3,534 and Darwin has 1,175 empty properties.

As vacancies have increased, rents in many cities are falling.

The average capital city rent for houses increased by 1.1% in 2015 to $541 a week and increased by 2.4% to $427 for units. Rents have fallen in Darwin by 12.3% for houses and by 11.2% for units. In Perth house rents are down by 9.6% and units down 9.7%.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy