Abbott defends Australia carbon plans • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 11:42PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:42PM Fri17°
Melbourne11:42PM Fri12°
Brisbane11:42PM Fri20°
Perth9:42PM Fri16°
Adelaide11:12PM Fri
Hobart11:42PM Fri17°
Canberra11:42PM Fri10°
Darwin11:12PM Fri25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Abbott defends Australia carbon plans

13 August 2015 by News Desk

ind_chimneysTony Abbott, Prime Minister of Australia, has defended his governments’ latest carbon reduction plans, saying that it meets the country’s economic needs.

Speaking at a press conference, the Prime Minister said: “As you know, the focus of this Government is always on growth and jobs, jobs and growth – that’s been our focus all along and I’m very pleased that, over the period since the election, our economy has created more than 330,000 jobs which means that we are on track to achieve our targets of a million jobs within five years and two million jobs within a decade.

“Also I’m delighted that, thanks to our Government’s plan, our economy is growing at amongst the fastest rates in the developed world. Obviously, it is very important that everything we do is done with this in mind: how do we promote jobs and growth, how do we promote growth and jobs, and climate change policy is no different. We have got to be environmentally responsible but we have got to be economically responsible too.

“We have got to reduce our emissions, but we have got to reduce our emissions in ways which are consistent with continued strong growth, particularly with continued strong jobs growth. The last thing we want to do is strengthen the environment and at the same time damage our economy – that is the Labor way, to put the environment ahead of the economy. What we want to do is to protect and promote both and that is exactly what today’s decision is all about.

“As a Government that our 2030 emissions reduction target will be in the range of 26 to 28 per cent. There is a definite commitment to 26 per cent but we believe under the policies that we have got, with the circumstances that we think will apply, that we can go to 28 per cent. This is fairly and squarely in the middle of comparable economies. It is not quite as high as the Europeans at 34 per cent on 2005. It is better than the Japanese at 25 per cent. It is vastly better than the Koreans at 4 per cent. It’s immeasurably better than the Chinese who will actually increase their emissions by 150 per cent between now and 2030. So, this is a good, solid result. It’s a good, solid, economically responsible, environmentally responsible target.”



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy