80% ‘green’ energy for Canberra • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 7:16PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:16PM Sun23°
Melbourne7:16PM Sun17°
Brisbane6:16PM Sun28°
Perth4:16PM Sun20°
Adelaide6:46PM Sun
Hobart7:16PM Sun18°
Canberra7:16PM Sun25°
Darwin5:46PM Sun29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

80% ‘green’ energy for Canberra

10 August 2015 by News Desk

industry-wind-turbines02Canberra is leading the way in wind farm technology and 80% of the city’s energy will be derived from renewable energy sources within the next three years.

Two new giant wind farms will help to power up to 106,000 homes as Canberra continues its plans to become a city powered by renewable energy.

Environment Minister Simon Corbell says that when the new 200 megawatts of capacity come online in three years time 80% of Canberra’s energy would come from renewable sources. The Australian government has set the country a target of 90% renewable energy by 2020.

Bids are now being invited for two new wind farms that will win 20-year contracts to generate electricity into the national grid at a guaranteed price.

Winning bidders will locate their headquarters and operations in Canberra and underwrite new education courses in wind farm maintenance and renewable energy at the Canberra Institute of Technology and the Australian National University.

Six wind farms are currently working or being constructed in the state to meet the government’s Green energy policy.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy