$32bn in Australia home loans • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Wed 9:58PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:58PM Wed20°
Melbourne9:58PM Wed16°
Brisbane8:58PM Wed24°
Perth6:58PM Wed24°
Adelaide9:28PM Wed
Hobart9:58PM Wed15°
Canberra9:58PM Wed13°
Darwin8:28PM Wed29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

$32bn in Australia home loans

15 September 2015 by News Desk

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANew Government lending rules aimed at cooling the property market in Australia has yet to have a big impact on home loan demand.

According to the Australian Bureau of Statistics, 53,095 home loans were approved in July, a rise of 0.3% on the previous month. The total value of all dwelling commitments also increased with more than $32 billion in home loans written in July.

Major banks and finance house in Australia have recently changed their rules and pricing in a bid to reduce the level of loans to investors who have been accused of over-heating the country’s housing market.

But these changes have yet to affect the market in any significant way as the value of all loans increased by 1.5% in July. Industry observers say the rise was driven by the continuing increase in house prices.

Property values climbed 2.8% across all of Australia’s capital cities over the month of July. Sydney and Melbourne were once again top performers, with the two capital cities recording property price growth of 3.3% and 4.9% respectively.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy