24hr transport in Melbourne • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 7:13PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:13PM Sun13°
Melbourne7:13PM Sun10°
Brisbane7:13PM Sun17°
Perth5:13PM Sun18°
Adelaide6:43PM Sun
Hobart7:13PM Sun
Canberra7:13PM Sun
Darwin6:43PM Sun31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

24hr transport in Melbourne

09 January 2016 by News Desk

travel_tramBuses, trains and trams in Melbourne, Australia, now run 24 hours a day every weekend.

A 12 month trial of the new all-night city services began last weekend when around 10,000 people used Melbourne’s public transport. Jacinta Allan, Victorian Public Transport Minister, said use of trains, trams and buses increased by 300% over the weekend.

In addition to the existing Night Rider bus service, new hourly train services and half-hour tram service have been scheduled on major city routes.

But not everyone is happy at the new all-night service. Residents in Melbourne’s north complained they were kept awake by train drivers sounding their horns during the overnight services.

Victoria’s 24-hour public transport

Trains leave Flinders Street Station every hour.
Trams operate every 30 minutes on routes 19, 67, 75, 86, 96 and 109.
V/Line coaches depart from Southern Cross Station at 2:00am for Bendigo, Ballarat, Traralgon, and Geelong.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy